Skip to main content
Reservations: 614-461-4100
29Sep
Layne Fargo & Kristen Lepionka in Conversation
2:00 PM - 11:59 PM The Book Loft of German Village
Date: September 29, 2019 to September 29, 2019
Where: The Book Loft of German Village, 631 South 3rd Street, Columbus, Ohio, United States, 43206
Phone: N/A
Event Type: Arts & Theater
Ticket Price: N/A

Layne Fargo & Kristen Lepionka in Conversation

Free Event - Open To The Public - In Conversation with author Kristin Lepionka (author of the Roxane Weary Mysteries) "[F]or potboilers, nothing comes close to Temper… There's violence here, but it's not only physical; it's emotional and psychological — even intellectual." Source: The New York Times Book Review "The theater is a tempestuous, bloody place to be in Fargo's prickly debut. Fargo's propulsive writing style and Joanna's and Kira's dueling narratives drive the increasingly frenzied chain of events that play out… Fargo is an author to watch." Source: Kirkus Reviews "Twisty, sexy, and so believable it's scary, the pages of Temper bleed an irresistible blend of voice, subculture, and character. Compulsive reading for fans of Black Swan, Mozart in the Jungle, or (dare I say it?) real-life backstage theatrics." Author: Jessica Strawser, bestselling author of Not That I Could Tell For fans of the high-stakes tension of the New York Times bestsellers Luckiest Girl Alive and The Lying Game, a razor-sharp page-turner about female ambition and what happens when fake violence draws real blood… After years of struggling in the Chicago theater scene, ambitious actress Kira Rascher finally lands the role of a lifetime. The catch? Starring in Temper means working with Malcolm Mercer, a mercurial director who's known for pushing his performers past their limits—onstage and off. Kira's convinced she can handle Malcolm, but the theater's cofounder Joanna Cuyler is another story. Joanna sees Kira as a threat—to her own thwarted artistic aspirations, her twisted relationship with Malcolm, and the shocking secret she's keeping about the upcoming production. But as opening night draws near, Kira and Joanna both start to realize that Malcolm's dangerous extremes are nothing compared to what they're capable of themselves. An edgy, addictive, and fiendishly clever tale of ambition, deceit, and power, Temper is a timely, heart-in-your-throat psycho
Back to top